Tuesday, 24 January 2017 14:54

2016 Sovereign Award Finalists

Written by The Jockey Club of Canada


The Jockey Club of Canada Announces 2016 Sovereign Award Finalists and extends an invitation for everyone to attend the Awards Ceremony!

The Jockey Club of Canada will host the 42nd Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony to honor Canada’s racing Champions of 2016 and Canada’s 2016 Horse of the Year on Thursday, April 13, 2017 at Palais Royale located in Toronto, Ontario.

Even if you are not a finalist, you’re invited to come and have fun and celebrate with the 2016 Champions of Thoroughbred Racing in Canada.

This year’s event will now be held on Thursday night to be more accommodating allowing everyone to come out and have fun prior to the of the start of Thoroughbred racing in Canada with Woodbine Racetrack’s 2017 Thoroughbred season set to begin on the Saturday , April 15, 2017at 1:00 pm (EST).

Tickets to the 42nd Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony are $250 each and tables of 10 are slightly discounted at $2400. Please note there is an Early Bird discount on ticket purchasing available until March 15, 2017. Tickets can be purchased for $200 each and Tables of 10 would be $2000. All tickets are plus applicable taxes and must be reserved in advance by contacting The Jockey Club of Canada at 416-675-7756 or email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

In an effort to promote equal opportunity in determining the winners for 2016 in the 17 race award categories, the voting began January 9, 2017, allowing for statistics for the entire 2016 year to be considered. To be eligible to receive a Sovereign Award in each divisional category a horse must have raced in Canada at least three times for all horses three years-old and up and two times for all two-year-olds. For the Owner, Trainer, Breeder, Jockey and Apprentice Jockey categories, a minimum of 10 starts in Canada must be made. The Outstanding Broodmare Award is a lifetime achievement award. The mare must have a Canadian-bred Stakes horse (by, definition, the horse must have come first, second or third in a Stakes race) in the current year and must have produced a different Canadian-bred stakes horse in a previous year.

The Jockey Club of Canada is proud to announce the top four finalists in each category as determined by the online ballots of 41 knowledgeable voters across Canada and in the United States.

The 2016 Sovereign Award Finalists, listed alphabetically in each category, are:

Champion Two-Year-Old Filly:
Conquest Vivi
Ghostly Presence
Let It Ride Mom
Victory to Victory
Champion Two-Year-Old Male:
Channel Maker
Golden Hawk
King and His Court
Tiz a Slam
Champion Three-Year-Old Female:
Gamble’s Ghost
Champion Three-Year-Old Male:
Amis Gizmo
Conquest Enforcer
Ready Intaglio
Sir Dudley Digges
Champion Older Female:
Goodyearforroses (IRE)
Hot Kiss
Ice Festival
Midnight MIley
Champion Older Male:
Are You Kidding Me
Breaking Lucky
Killin Me Smalls
Champion Female Turf Horse:
Goodyearforroses (IRE)
Internal Bourbon
Lexie Lou
Champion Male Turf Horse:
Calgary Cat
Conquest Enforcer
Dimension (GB)
Glenville Gardens
Champion Female Sprinter:
Cactus Kris
Midnight Miley
River Maid
Southern Ring
Champion Male Sprinter:
Calgary Cat
Conquest Enforcer
Noholdingback Bear
Passion for Action
Outstanding Broodmare:
Cruising Kris
Galloping Ami
Keen Victory
Song of the Lark
Outstanding Breeder:
Adena Springs
Melnyk, Eugene
Sam-Son Farm
Tall Oaks Farm
Outstanding Owner:
Barber, Gary
Conquest Stables, LLC
Dalos, Ivan
Sam-Son Farm
Outstanding Trainer:
Attfield, Roger L.
Casse, Mark E.
De Paulo, Michael P.
Tracy, Greg
Outstanding Apprentice Jockey:
Asencio, Jose Mariano
Auger, Aimee D.
Gopie, Daniel
Pizarro, Kayla
Outstanding Jockey:
Contreras, Luis
Da Silva, Eurico Rosa
Hernandez, Rafael Manual
Husbands, Patrick
2016 Horse of the Year

TBA on awards night

The four finalists for 2016 Horse of the Year honors will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

Media Award Categories:

The judging for the 2016 Media Sovereign Award categories will be performed by the Journalism Professors at Humber, School of Media Studies & Information Technology, in Toronto, Ontario. The three finalists in each of the three media categories will be announced before February 28.

The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as the international representative of the Canadian Thoroughbred industry. The mission of The Jockey Club of Canada is to promote and maintain a high standard for Thoroughbred racing and breeding in Canada at a level which is recognized internationally for the benefit of all those interested in the sport including the general public by operations and services such as, but not limited to: evaluating all Graded, Listed and Black-type races in Canada annually; conducting the annual Sovereign Awards for outstanding achievement in Thoroughbred racing and breeding in Canada; maintaining a field office in Canada for the Jockey Club of the United States and the Jockey Club Registry Service; and by representing Canada as a Member of the IFHA.


For more information on The Jockey Club of Canada’s annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony contact Melanie O’Sullivan 416-675-7756/416-801-1640; email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. / This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or visit www.jockeyclubcanada.com
Melanie O’Sullivan
Consultant - Sovereign Awards Chair



Read 2482 times Last modified on Tuesday, 24 January 2017 14:55