Monday, 27 May 2013 00:00

Night of Champions Honoured

Written by Sugar Doyle
Rate this item
(2 votes)

The beautiful Quartz Ballroom, at the Matrix Hotel - Edmonton, was the setting for the Alberta Thoroughbred 'Night of Champions' which took place this past Saturday night.

A large crowd was on hand to celebrate Alberta's finest in thoroughbred racing throughout 2012. Jim Haggan came forward to say grace prior to a wonderful meal. Following dinner came the introduction of the evening's guest speaker - Michael 'Pinball' Clemons - a member of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame. Pinball’s emotional message was well-received by all. 

It was then on to the 'Night of Champions' award presentations where several award winners took to the podium to express their gratitude… Lyle and Phylis Farkash on their wonderful ride with Toccetive after he claimed ‘Horse of the Year’ honours… Dr. Peter Martin on his ‘Special Appreciation Award’… and Dale Saunders on his ‘Horseperson of the Year’ win…

The mood was electric… The night was spectacular… A great time was had by all…

Following is a list of the Award winners:

  • 2012 Backstretch Appreciation Award to Deb Waddington
    Sponsored by: Dr. Jodi Kendrew, Dr. Steve Smith
  • 2012 Groom of the Year Award to Sylvia Claus
    Presented by Theresa Sealy and Jim Haggan
  • 2012 Apprentice Jockey Award to Scott Williams
    Sponsored by the H.B.P.A. and Northlands
  • 2012 Leading Jockey to Rico Walcott
    “The Lou Davies Memorial Trophy”
  • 2012 Leading Trainer to Ron Grieves
    “The H.B.P.A. Trophy”
  • 2012 Leading Owner to Barn None Ranches Ltd.
    “The Jockey Club of Canada Trophy”
  • 2012 Leading Breeder to Bar None Ranches Ltd.
    “The C.T.H.S. Trophy”

Alberta Breeders’ Awards of Excellence

Frank and Debra Schira
Bar None Ranches Ltd.
Highfield Stock Farm Ltd.
Barbara Saunders
Ken Anderson
Ken Anderson
Bill and Kathy Ramage
Thomas Lees
Al & Bunny Noren
Pumpkin Hollow
Silver Baubles
Tell Me Lies
Wild Crush
Hollywood Drama
Hollywood Dreams
Jazz Time Girl
Regal Tigereyes
Sharp as Ever

To the nominee portion of the Awards

  • 2012 Champion Claimer to Shanghi Charlie
    “The H.B.P.A. Trophy”
  • 2012 Champion Sprinter to Ready Racer
    “The Schanks International Trophy”
  • 2012 Champion Two Year Old Filly to Tell Me Lies
    “The Roy McLellan Trophy”
  • 2012 Champion Two Year Old Colt to Hollywood Drama
    “The Rocky Mountain Turf Club Trophy”
  • 2012 Champion Three Year olf Filly to Madeira Park
    “The Paddockhurst Stables Trophy”
  • 2012 Champion Three Year Old Colt to Toccetive
    “The Galileo Equine Insurance Trophy”
  • 2012 Champion Older Mare to Heidi Maria
    “The Moore and Company Trophy”
  • 2012 Champion Older Horse to Commander
    The Northlands Park Trophy”
  • 2012 Champion Alberta-Bred to Hollywood Drama
    “The Ted Connor Trophy”
  • 2012 Horse of the Year to Toccetive
    “The Horse Racing Alberta Trophy”
    Presented by: Shirley McClellan
  • Special Appreciation Award to Dr. Peter Martin
    “The Lloyd and Mary Wilson Trophy”
    Presented by: Gordon Wilson
  • 2012 Horseperson of the Year to Dale Saunders
    “The Ken Cohoe Trophy”
    Presented by: Don Danard
Read 3280 times Last modified on Monday, 27 May 2013 12:57