Tuesday, 21 January 2014 09:43

2013 Sovereign Award Finalists Named

Written by HRA admin staff
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Jockey Club of Canada Announced today the 2013 Sovereign Award Finalists which includes familiar names to Alberta Racing fans. Exercise Rider School graduates Amie Pooli  and Sheena Ryan have been named finalists in the Outstanding Apprentice Jockey Category.

Fan Favourite and hard working Rico Walcott is a finalist in the Outstanding Jockey Category. Danny Dion's Bear Stable Ltd. is up for consideration for the Outstanding Owner Award.

Below is a complete list of Award finalists courtesy of The Jockey Club Of Canada.


The Jockey Club of Canada Announces 2013 Sovereign Award Finalists

The Jockey Club of Canada will host the 39th Annual Sovereign Awards Party to celebrate Thoroughbred racing in Canada and to honour the Canadian Champions of 2013, on Friday, April 11, 2014 at Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto.

The 2013 Sovereign Award Finalists, listed alphabetically in each category, are:

Champion Two-Year-Old Filly:

  • Lexie Lou
  • On Rainbow Bridge
  • Paladin Bay
  • Ria Antonia

Champion Two-Year-Old Male:

  • Ami’s Holiday
  • Asserting Bear
  • Go Greeley
  • Jose Sea View

Champion Three-Year-Old Filly:

  • Coffee Clique
  • Leigh Court
  • Nipissing
  • Overheard

Champion Three-Year-Old Male:

  • Five Iron
  • Midnight Aria
  • River Seven
  • Up With the Birds

Champion Older Female:

  • Madeira Park
  • Moonlit Beauty
  • Part the Seas
  • Sisterly Love

Champion Older Male:

  • Alpha Bettor
  • Delegation
  • Herbie D
  • Ultimate Destiny

Champion Turf Female:

  • Leigh Court
  • Overheard
  • Part the Seas
  • Solid Appeal

Champion Turf Male:

  • Forte Dei Marmi (GB)
  • Phil’s Dream
  • River Seven
  • Up With the Birds

Champion Female Sprinter:

  • Goldstryke Glory
  • Leigh Court
  • Part the Seas
  • Youcan’tcatchme

Champion Male Sprinter:

  • Bear No Joke
  • Essence Hit Man
  • Herbie D
  • Phil’s Dream

Outstanding Broodmare:

  • Captivating
  • Galadriel
  • Shebandowana
  • Star Guest

Outstanding Breeder:

  • Adena Springs
  • Chiefswood Stables Ltd.
  • William D. Graham
  • Sam-Son Farm

Outstanding Owner:

  • Bear Stables Ltd.
  • John C. Oxley
  • Sam-Son Farms
  • Tucci Stables

Outstanding Trainer:

  • Reade Baker
  • Mark Casse
  • Nicholas Gonzalez
  • Malcolm Pierce

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey:

  • Skye Chernetz
  • Amie Pooli
  • Sheena Ryan
  • Tommy Wong

Outstanding Jockey:

  • Luis Contreras
  • Eurico Da Silva
  • Justin Stein
  • Rico Walcott

The three finalists for Horse of the Year honours will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

Media Award Categories:

The judging for the 2013 media categories will be performed by the Journalism Professors at Humber, School of Media Studies & Information Technology, in Toronto, Ontario. The three finalists in each of the three media categories will be announced the week of February 24.

The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as the international representative of the Canadian Thoroughbred industry and to promote improvements to Thoroughbred racing and breeding, both in Canada and internationally.

The Jockey Club of Canada also operates as a field office of The Jockey Club (New York); organizes the Sovereign Awards; administers the Canadian Graded and Listed Stakes program; liaises with foreign Jockey Clubs; promotes Thoroughbred ownership; and represents Canada at international racing conferences.

For more information on The Jockey Club of Canada’s annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony contact Stacie Roberts at 416-675-7756; email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or visit jockeyclubcanada.com.


Read 2799 times Last modified on Sunday, 09 February 2014 01:10