Thursday, 06 June 2013 13:27

Weekend Preview at RMTC, June 7-9

Written by Garry Allison - Rocky Mountain Turf Club
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Race goers will have a full plate this weekend at the  Rocky Mountain Turf Club, with three days of live racing and the Belmont Stake live via satellite another feature.

The Belmont, complete with the lively party atmosphere of Bullys and the RMTC, won't feature a shot at a triple crown but this distance race promises to be a real test for the winner.

Live racing goes Friday at 6 p.m. with six races on the card, then Saturday and Sunday you'll have seven races each day with post time 1:05 p.m.

Saturday's fifth race features the 350-yard Oldtimers Classic with a nice $9,250 purse. Some top trainers are in here, including Laurie Ferguson, Allen Goodsell, Bob Gwilliam and Bucky Stockwell.

"Sunday race fans should see a dandy, a five and a half furlong run for $8,700," says RMTC CEO Max Gibb. "Our Spring Overnite Sprint will see some of the best horses at the RMTC in action, seeking the winner's share of the $8,700 purse.

"Fan favourite Beau Gris, Norm Cuthbertson's fine horse, will be among the eight starters. As well Jim Depew has entered Pure Vertical and Lucky 13, trained by Darcy Ralph, is included among the eight at the gate. Stan Marks is having a great Spring and his horse Lyon's Growl is ready to go and another octogenarian, Phil Wiest has Rocky Ice.

"Also in the field are Eighty Eight, Slews Academy and Eisen De Gaul.

"This is our featured race of the weekend, but 20 very competitive races this weekend, plus the Belmont." With the close of 12 days of racing last Sunday, Rick Wiest scored a hat-trick last weekend, with his three wins giving him seven for the meet, two behind leading trainer Lyle Magnuson with nine. In third spot is Stan Marks with six victories.

Topping the rider standings there's a new face, with Ramiro Sanchez Castillo charging home with 12 winners to date, one ahead of defending leading rider Larris Allen at 11. Blandford Stewart and Tyler Walker are next in line with 10 win apiece.

Read 1724 times Last modified on Thursday, 06 June 2013 13:28