Thursday, 29 May 2014 21:00

First Friday Night at RMTC

Written by Garry Allison, Rocky Mountain Turf Club
Rate this item
(0 votes)

This week marks the first Friday night race card of the Spring Meet. Post time for racing under the lights will be 6 p.m. and fans will be treated to six races. The six-race Friday card opens with a 250-yard speed dash featuring horses from Janet Sather, Lorne Webb, Laurie Ferguson, one of the meets leading trainers, Angelle Carter and Nolan Little Bear. In a race this short its anybody's choice.

There's a 350-yard Quarter horse dash for the fourth race and the eighth race, covering three furlongs, features a full field of eight. Look for CR Rajun Cajun with Philip Clunis and trained by Janet Sather to be among the leaders.

Jim Depew with one-time horse of the year Mr. Excessive with Dwight Anthony Lewis aboard likely to be a contender in a solid field which includes Phil Wiest's Larszilla and Nellie Pigeau's Box Top.

"Saturday and Sunday we have full eight-race cards," says Rocky Mountain Turf Club CEO Max Gibb. "Saturday's final race is a five furlong affair with Lyle Magnuson, who has five wins to tie for the training lead this Spring, having two horses in the field. Lawrence Bourne, of the great Bourne racing family, has Alaway entered, a winner last time out.

"Barbara Norlander has the fan favourite Chick Power in the five and a half furlong sixth race while Pete Dubois, one of our top trainers, has General Gabe entered in the seven furlong fifth race.

"Overall Saturday and Sunday we have some pretty top fields lined up." Post time for Saturday and Sunday racing will be 1:15 p.m.

Sunday there's a $3,700 race, in the fifth, with horses from Dennis Oberholtzer, Robby Overturf, Robert Gwilliam, Jim Depew and Rosa Lee Burbank all going to the post.

The first three-day card of the Spring meet winds up Sunday with an eight-horse, five and a half furlong run. Leading riders Tyler Walker, aboard Freshside, Trevor Simpson astride Five Yard Penalty and Larris Allen on Dreaming Dancer will all be in action.

Five is the magic number for the three leading trainers to date, Stan Marks, Laurie Ferguson and Lyle Magnuson. Tall Tyler Walker, Trevor Simpson and Blandford Stewart all have seven wins after three weeks astride the horses, while last years leading Spring rider, Larris Allen, has six.

There's something for everyone at the RMTC, with a candy scramble for the kids, Vegas-style slots for the adults and live band music for everyone.

Read 1644 times Last modified on Thursday, 29 May 2014 22:09