Friday, 26 May 2017 08:30

Upcoming Racing at RMTC

Written by Garry Allison, Rocky Mountain Turf Club
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The third weekend of the Rocky Mountain Turf Club’s Spring Meet offers two eight-race cards, featuring a full field of eight in Saturday’s eighth race. This run of six furlongs puts the spotlight on some of the meet’s top trainer, the likes of Lyle Magnuson, Norm Cuthbertson, Les Adams, and Jill West.

There’s another full field in the third race, a Quarter Horse sprint of 350 yards. This sprint features top horses like Go Jessin Beaver, trained by William Leech and ridden by Scott Sterr. As well you’ll see Donalda Cochrane’s Fiftys Carbon Copy with Larris Allan aboard and Nolan Little Bear’s When In Rome.

The fifth race feature’s Ma’s Miracle Run, a 2016 ACTRA award winner and Robert Gwillian’s Slewfoot. Sunday’s card is a dandy, the vaunted AQHA Maiden Challenge over a distance of 350 yards. Top trainers like Janet Sather, William Lech, Allan Goodsell, Tom Kenway and Donalda Cochrane all have horses in this speed dash, boasting a $15,810 guaranteed purse.

The seventh race, covering five and a half furlongs, will have the spotlight on Jim Depew’s Forever Man, Ginwillmakeusin from Jaqueline Smith and Gallant Gabe from Pete Dubois, the cream of this eight-horse race. The final race of the weekend is a five furlong affair with a $4,500 purse. You’ll see She’s At It Again from Jon Poirier, Dallas Birdrattler’s Officer’s Charm and Ziva the Diva from Laurie Ferguson.

Going into the third weekend of racing Jaqueline Smith leads the trainers with three wins while knotted at two wins are Alison Clapton, veteran Buckey Stockwell, James D, Christianson, Harold Burbank and Laurie Ferguson. You can bet that after this weekend one or two of these people will breakaway into a solid overall lead.  Lyle Magnuson leads the trainers with 17 horses going into the starting gate and $12,537 in purse money, but only one winner.

The jockeys’ race is equally tight with Jose O. Rocha leading to date with nine wins, trailed by veteran Scott Sterr with six and Larris Alan with five victories. This trio is trailed by Blandford Stewart with four wins.

Read 674 times Last modified on Friday, 26 May 2017 08:32